I love educational videos on YouTube (yes, I am a nerd). Sure, YouTube has its share of cat videos and other random crap, but there is also some awesome content out there if you know where to look. And some videos have educational and fun topics, such as…

Do toilets (or drains) swirl differently in the northern and southern hemispheres?

I’ve heard this question a few times, especially after I moved to Australia. A couple of science guys on YouTube took up the challenge and posted these videos a couple of months ago. One is from Destin at Smarter Every Day (aka, the nicest guy on YouTube–seriously), and the other is from Derek at Veritasium. The videos are meant to be played simultaneously–they synced them up with cues so the timing works well. I embedded both videos below so you can quickly click each of them and play them at the same time when instructed (just don’t go full screen). It is totally worth the effort.

Here we go….

Smarter Every Day

Veritasium

